My little mixtape to the world

20 Jul

Radio Free Grand Haven started as a series of mix tapes I made for friends and colleagues.  For the first year or so, I’d make ’em, then slip them to people on the sly, without so much as a hint as to where they came from.  They were just little bursts of cool music from out of the blue.  The ultimate goal was to sneak somebody something that made their day and hopefully either turned them on to something they hadn’t heard or else got them to reconsider something that had previously gone in one ear and out the other.  From obscure songsmiths like Bill Fox to widely known and more widely dismissed works of genius from much-maligned acts like The Partridge Family, the idea was to blow people away with the sheer awesomeness of the music I dig.

For me, music’s not just something to add to the background of my life and fill the awkward silence.  It comes closer to religion.  In a sad twist of fate, I can’t sing, I don’t play and I have zero in the way of turntable skills. The one musical skill I’ve always possessed is a simple knack for knowing what song should come next.  In a bygone era, I’d have made a helluva a  radio DJ, but that career doesn’t really exist any more–at least not in the “spin what you like and turn on the masses” sense that informed the tastemakers of bygone eras.  In fact, about the closest you can get these days is a blog, so here we go.  Consider it a mix tape in a different form.

Disclaimer:  No consultants, corporate programmers or other such professional hacks will ever be consulted in the production of this blog.  It’s just one guy and his trustworthy ears.

One Response to “My little mixtape to the world”

  1. mark August 5, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    I seem to recall being at one party when you were a DJ.

Leave a Reply

